United, together we are stronger…

You may have noticed I tweet a lot about equality and diversity… I have also been tweeting about #ShareRamadan over the last year or so. This post is easily my most read on Staffrm. Click here to read!

Screen Shot 2017-05-25 at 19.58.22

Well, it is that time again, in a couple of days, Ramadan will begin for 1.6 billion Muslims globally… In England, we will have to fast for up to 17 hours a day. Without any food or drink. At all.

So what? What’s it got to do with you?

In light of the most devastating terror attack in Manchester only a few days ago. The fact that this despicable, animal, suicide bomber, who is referred to as a Muslim has yet again, done more damage to the faith of Islam. Therefore, I feel it is even more important for ‘us’ ‘all’ to stick together. Terrorism aims to divide and split us, love unites us.

I wrote a blog about it, after the Paris attacks, and I have had to retweet this statement, many times since then… I am truly at a loss with how confused the world is right now.

So how can you get involved? How can you Share Ramadan with me? Look at the video below, created by http://shareramadan.com … Easy huh?

But, why should we get involved? What about you? I hear you say…

Around 7 years ago, I was lucky enough to be selected on a TIPD programme. The Teacher International Development Programme. We travelled to Michigan, USA. On arrival, Saturday evening, our lead, a devote Christian offered the group to attend Church with him the next morning. I immediately asked if I could attend, as a Muslim. He was delighted. I loved experiencing his faith, his commitment and his devotion. I love being involved. I get a real sense of enjoyment and happiness getting involved with others, seeing what they are about, spiritually. So, if I can do anything you do, within the confines of my faith, please do ask, I would be delighted…

So, can I ask you to #ShareRamadan with me?

If you are interested then please do fill in this Google Doc– So far 14 amazing colleagues have done so…

@nikable
@numpty_teacher
@ClarkGill8
@History__girls
@misscharteach
@nfordteacher
@smurfatik
@MissEvansRE
@AndreaWilliamJ2
@ICTmagic
@Lisacook81
@MrEFinch
@leigh_taylor13
@teachanshi
@jsamuelcjohnson
@Nickiwadley1
@miss_e_miller
@87history
@Cee_660
@ProfCathHarper
@gsimmonsb
@iamashjayy

Last year @JoBaker and @NatalieHScott both Shared Ramadan with me. 🙂

Why the Google Doc?

It will allow me to send you a thank you gift. It would be my pleasure to do so. If you are close enough, let me take you out to break your fast with you?

When a colleague of mine did this at my school last year, my mother prepared him food to eat to break his fast. Needless to say, the taste of authentic homemade Pakistani food made him want to fast again!

The gift will not be massive, but it will be a heartfelt thank you for choosing to share my faith with me, one day, or more, its the thought and effort you have shown me, a stranger.

 

Could you also let me know by Tweeting/messaging/commenting when you will be fasting, so I can check in on you?

But, again, why? Why should you bother?

I wrote an article for Schools Week Newspaper on why here. I asked as educator how can we support students during the holy month of Ramadan. I mention in this article about why it is important not to judge when a student can fast. I also talk about how difficult it truly is. Would you understand, without trying?

So, will you stand with me? Share Ramadan with me? Get involved in showing the world, we are all united, not divided?

Let me know…

One comment

Leave a Reply

