status A Re-ally important blog!

Re-attempt Re-fresh Re-draft Re-vise -Re-read Re-peat Re-visit

Re-write Re-cover Re-mix Re-do Re-cap

A while back I saw a post on Twitter where a teacher (I can’t remember who,) had used some of the above words as a form of feedback. I print screened the Tweet and like many things I find online I didn’t think too much more about it!

file-26-02-2017
If this belongs to you, please do let me know, so I can reference you!

This morning whilst trying to clear storage from my phone, I came across the above picture/print screen again and started to think about it further…

I began to think about the Magenta Principles which I first encountered whilst reading Lessons are for Learning (1997) By Mike Hughes.

screen-shot-2017-02-26-at-09-37-11

The idea is for students to carry about a number of tasks within the ‘same learning’ in order to embed the knowledge further. I used this whilst teaching A Level Law. Especially when provided with a pre-seen case source book, where students had to analyse and link legal precedent with current issues.

The magenta principles also ties in line with the ideas presented in Make it Stick: The Science of Successful Learning by Peter C. Brown, Henry L. Roediger III, & Mark A. McDaniel. The authors model the concept of interleaving and interweaving learning perfectly, by presenting an idea to us, recapping it further and then after introducing a further topic, they bring us back to recap the earlier topic, when you’re on the cusp of forgetting about it all together.

Think about your lessons? How do you teach content? All at once, then a formative assessment at the end? Or should you teach, introduce, re-teach, test, teach and so on…

forgetting_curve

Visit http://thinkedu.net/blog/the-forgetting-curve-interleaving-vs-blocking/ for more info!

Here is a BRILLIANT blog summarising the book expertly!

cover-300w

What do you do?

How do we do we ensure our students learn effectively in our classroom? This blog isn’t claiming to give you those answers! However, as with everything I write here, I only summarise What I do.

I often begin my lessons with a short, snappy, 10 question recall tests. I have written about them here. This is my way of getting students to RE-CAP and RE-VISIT previously taught content.

I also try to ensure all students are challenged through the tasks that are set throughout my lessons. They are asked to RE-ATTEMPT tasks if they have not tried their best. They are asked to RE-DO similar questions that will be testing the same knowledge but in a different way.

It is important to me not to simply present exam questions in the exact format students will see in their papers. (Although showing students a real exam paper, with an explanation of each question is vital!) I intentionally present questions in a different format too. This is so student’s do not see their learning as simply ‘teaching to the test.’

RE-PEATING tasks is also important. Students are often told that just because we have done this once, it does not mean it is embedded or indeed, fully learnt.

I often RE-MIX my lessons. I teach the same lesson again to RE-COVER content, with the same objectives and intended success criteria but in a totally different format. This is to RE-FRESH the content to students. This is linked to the ideas learnt from The Hidden Lives of Learners by Graham Nuthall.

I also use the terms, NOT YET, or if it’s not excellent, it’s not finished. So students are often told to RE-DRAFT or even RE-WRITE their work. As like most schools, we get students to self assess and peer- assess, but I always try to ensure students are provided with annotated modelled answers to compare and evaluate theirs from/with.

Overall, the items above are things you will all be doing, I am sure! However, I do see some merit in listing these words for students, to show them why and how they are doing certain tasks.

There is a real strength in explaining how to learn to students. More than the EEF toolkits version of Meta-cognition, but actually having frank conversations with students if they say I am a visual learners! It is also imperative to break different types of learning down too. For example, explaining the conception of how to RE-VISE. I spend time doing this with my students. I begin with saying, if the methods they have chosen to revise by worked so effectively, did they achieve the grades they expected?

Overall, I am in the process of putting ‘something’ together using those words. I thought I would look for others but then realised theres this many words beginning with RE..

I have also been watching these videos by the Learning Scientists!

Check them out here.

screen-shot-2017-02-26-at-19-08-56

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

