Week three- @ASTSupportaali

Three weeks now completed…and the question I am finding myself repeatedly asking Kelly (my Fiancé) is ‘…but am I actually doing anything…!’ Let me explain…

Am I doing anything?

Being an Assistant Head naturally I am on a reduced timetable. Therefore, I have more time to be out and about and meeting my teams and so on. However, I have found that with a reduced timetable it also means:

  • FEWER lessons to plan/create/resource
  • FEWER books/essays to mark
  • FEWER DTs/Homeworks to track
  • FEWER tracking/assessing/reporting
  • FEWER conversations with parents/exam boards/moderators
  • FEWER creative/innovative/new and engaging activities have to be dreamt up
  • AND SO ON…

Obviously with the reduction in those things there is an increase in A LOT OF OTHER THINGS… BUT;

AM I DOING ANYTHING…?

Reason I keep asking is because I seem to be constantly just setting tasks, asking for information, reviewing practices, improving and editing. I seem to be asking for lots of things to be done. But, I am realising these are not for me, these are not tasks that will benefit my lessons, my direct students, but will benefit the school. These are things that will have a much larger impact than the things I used to do. Which were essentially for myself or my dept. only.

Also, most little things are being done for me, with the assistance of my WONDERFUL team. My learning support manager is truly wonderful, helping me out, supporting me and doing lots for me. My assistant SENCO is a fountain of knowledge who has been ever so accommodating and supportive. Which is why I feel that unless I am doing those small things, I am not doing anything…!

Leadership V Management:

Screen Shot 2013-09-24 at 23.05.48

Managing- The process of dealing with or controlling things or people- I seem to be doing a lot of this- but I do have the responsibility for the department/area.

Screen Shot 2013-09-24 at 23.06.29

But then again, I am leading a group of people…

Now, I began to wonder- Am I managing or Leading…

I found in a 1989 book “On Becoming a Leader,” Warren Bennis composed a list of the differences:

  • – The manager administers; the leader innovates.
  • – The manager maintains; the leader develops.
  • – The manager focuses on systems and structure; the leader focuses on people.
  • – The manager relies on control; the leader inspires trust.
  • – The manager asks how and when; the leader asks what and why.

SO my question has been answered- I am doing both. Which is great!

This is what I have spent the majority of my week doing…

I guess what I am trying to say is, some things are done behind the scenes and take time to take fruition. I am at that stage… sowing the seeds for future change. It feels good to start to make a difference, to start to personalise my area, to start to put my feelings, twist, inspiration and innovation into my directorate.

Priorities:

This week I have also started to realise, much to my dismay that I simply can not respond to every single teacher. I need to prioritise and need to manage my time very carefully. Somethings simply will need to wait… Watch this space!

Thanks for reading… more to come next week- Open Evening- Uni…and so on!

 

PS= I posted a poll at the end of my week two post- here are the results.

Maybe those people that voted no- can leave me a little comment? I would love any feedback at all…

Screen Shot 2013-09-24 at 23.30.15

4 comments

  1. The biggest problem in schools is managers who can’t manage but justify their position by thinking of themselves as leaders. Aim to be a manager. Leadership can come later. A school only really needs one leader but a lot of managers.

Leave a Reply

